More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other items with famous brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is noticeable that there has been a trend among consumers as items from well-known labels have met a sudden surge in sale in the omnipresent. This essay is to shed light on the primary causes of this situation and outline my own perspective on this matter. On the whole, this development can initiate both benefits and drawbacks.

To begin with, the number one cause of consumers’ need for big brands’ goods is undoubtedly the social media. Over the past few years, social media has become an influential platform, which is why famous brands now seek their potential customer online rather than the traditional way of advertising. The new generation is deeply affected by influencers and key opinion leaders (KOLs), therefore, they tend to pick up their lifestyle from those. Furthermore, having been severely influenced by cinematography and celebrities’ lifestyle, young adults have developed a mindset which justify their reckless shopping: status of a person is determined by the brands one is wearing or using, the more exorbitant the price is and the more popular the item is, the higher the status that person holds.

On the one hand, with the dramatic rise in sales at the present, famous brands and labels are profiting and this has proven that consumers’ need for big brands items is more beneficial than harmful to the economy. On the other hand, whilst the economy is gaining benefits from this lifestyle, the environment is indubitably suffering from the consequences. For instance, as the need for clothes increases, the fashion industry has created “fast fashion” to provide consumers with inexpensive clothing items. As follows, it is observable from statistics that there has also been an increase in fashion waste, which derived from fast fashion due to the tawdry quality. As a result, consumers need for big labels items is also accounted for a huge carbon footprint and a massive waste which later on would translate into greenhouse gas emissions contributing to global warming.

In conclusion, this development in consumers need surely benefits the economy as sales continue to grow, albeit this also means that the waste and carbon footprint this produce is going to rise alongside.