Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that both severe social and practical problems can arise when one lives in a foreign country. I only agree with this statement to a moderate extent. Although these two types of problems are hard to avoid, they are not so thorny and can be dealt with.

Social problems are the first obstacles facing immigrants. Perhaps the most formidable one among them is the language barrier. If people do not have a good command of the native language, they might not be able to communicate effectively with local citizens. For example, immigrant workers may fail to understand what their colleagues are discussing at their company, or exchange students could not ask their teachers or classmates for assistance with their schoolwork. These troubles can render immigrants to make slow progress in their studies and work in the new country.

The second challenge, which stems from the language barrier, is practical problems. For instance, new settlers may not speak the language well to ask the locals for directions within a neighborhood or order food and beverages in a restaurant. They may also not understand the instructions printed on the labels of food products or medicines when going shopping. These troubles can make the overseas living experience stressful and uncomfortable for many people.

Nevertheless, these problems are not so monumental can be solved in several ways. First, there are interpreting applications on smartphones that help immigrants interpret the foreign language into their mother tongue. This would considerably facilitate smooth communications between them and native residents. Second, before traveling to another nation for work or study purposes, travelers can attend language courses specializing in speaking and listening skills. These courses would grant learners a strong linguistic foundation that enables them to converse somewhat fluently with the locals. These suggestions can, apparently, tackle the majority of the issues in a foreign country.

In conclusion, I do not largely agree with the statement. While social and practical problems would likely encounter people in the new country, they are not critical and can be coped with by interpreting applications and enrolling in language courses.