It is often debated that living in a foreign country with a different language spoken by the public can bring about several social and practical problems. I do agree with this opinion and I will justify my support through the following paragraphs.

Regarding social problems, a person who does not fully grasp on the language of the country they immigrate to may sometimes be misuderstood by indigenous people. They may unintentionally express something that be considered disrespectful. As a result, local folks would keep their distance from the newcomer and he or she may lose their confidence and end up suffering from a lot of mental diseases. Furthermore, lack of understanding the foreign language spoken by the country-of-destination will often can lead to unintentionally assaulting to local customs and traditional values which in turn others become protective against them. For example, drinking alcohol is forbidden in Muslim countries and drunken people are severely criticized.

In terms of practical problems. For a person who is unable to understand the spoken language of the local public, even doing the simplest day-to-day task such as finding an address, ordering food, and taking full advantage of university courses could be problematic. From a personal experience, when I have been in China where their language is completely different than mine, for buying a simple item from a grocery store I face a lot of difficulties to convey my wish to the salesperson.

In conclusion, for living in a new country with a different language passing related language courses should be prioritized. Otherwise, one could encounter a lot of social and practical problems that could make life intolerable for the newcomer.