Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems

Many people think that it will cause both serious social problems and practical problems when living in a foreign country and speaking a foreign language. I think it's really correct for people who don't expect in this kind of foreign language.

Language is very important for people to communicate and contact with other people. People cannot live alone and don't communicate with others all the time. If a person is not familiar with the foreign language used in the place he lives, he will feel very hard to express his idea and is very easily misunderstood by others. It is very difficult for him to make up friends with local people. And it is very hard for a person to overcome the language problem individually, he may feel very lonely and suffer from social problems.

People with a poor foreign language skill may also suffer from many practical problems. As language is used anywhere in our daily life. If you want to buy food in the restaurant, you need to talk with the waiters. If you want to buy daily goods in the supermarket, you need to know the words' meaning of all kinds of goods. People will be very tired if they do not have a good foreign language skill. Such as for me, I just came to Hong Kong for about one year and cannot speak Cantoness at all, I will be confused if I talk with some local people as I do not know the meaning of their words. I seldom ask other people about the road because they do not understand me and I do not get their words too. I will find the items in supermarkets myself rather than ask for other people. It is a really big problem for me. I also have many friends from mainland China, and they face these problems too. These problems are very small but really practical and annoying.

In conclusion, language skill is very important in daily life. People who come to a foreign country but are not familiar with this country's language will face many serious problems as well as practical problems.