Living in large cities is more and more difficult. What are the problems faced by those who live in big cities? Suggest some measure to solve these problems.

It is true that there are more and more problems that the city dwellers have to face in huge metropolices daily. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this phenomenon, we “or” societies and the government can take steps to mitigate these potential obtacles.

Every day, the major cities' inhabitants have to face some difficulties about traffic congestion, high living cost or social problems. Firstly, in urban areas, the number of vehicles has been increasing in the street, causing traffic jam that makes us not only waste time on transport but also have breathing problems even lungs cancer due to too many exhaust fumes. Secondly, the problem for anyone who hopes to migrate to a large city is that the living cost is likely to be much higher than that in the countryside. Residents of vast cities have to pay higher prices for housing, transport, and even food. For example, in small town, price of spinach bunch is $1 but in giant cities, we have to pay $3 or $4 to buy it. Finally, there is a dramatic growth in the number of immigrants from villages to big cities. This has led the fierce competitive in the job market. Therefore, the unemployment rate has increased so high that more and more people commit crimes/ become criminals to earn a living. As a result, living in the metropolises is too stressful.

There are several actions that governments could take to solve the problems described above. Firstly, to reduce traffic jam, the governments should encourage residents to use more and more public transit such as bus, metro system and so on. Simultaneously, they also invest in improving infrastructure in urban areas to adapt a population rise. Secondly, citizens of metropolises need to upgrade their know-how or skills to earn a lot money by themselves to pay their living cost. Finally, to decrease crimes, the city government should issue practical actions to attract foreign investment to rise job opportunities and open some vocational training centers to meet the demand for skilled workers in the city. Besides, they would be to develop provincial towns and rural areas, by moving industry and jobs to those regions, in order to reduce the pressure on major cities.

In conclusion, governments could certainly implement a range of measures to enhance the quality of life for all urban inhabitants.