A long-distance flight consumes the same amount of fuel and causes the same amount of pollution as a car does in several years. Some people think that to reduce environmental problems, we should discourage non-essential flights, such as tourist air travel, instead of limiting the use of cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, environment issues, particularly air pollution, become increasingly severe in our world. There has much debate about whether or not non-essential flights, as a important cause of air pollution and a waste of natural resources, should be discouraged, such as tourist air travel instead of limiting cars. I tend to agree some non-essential flights could be abolished, but it dose not mean definitely that we should cancel tourist air travel and stop limiting usage of private cars.

First of all, it is no doubt that long-distance fights consume much fuel and lead to air pollution, as well as cars. As a result, consuming fuel constantly puts a severe strain on natural resource, which may not only cause environmental issues but also affect the world economy because of the increasing higher fuel costs. In addition, exhaust fumes from flights pollute the air which cause global climate change, and also threaten humans’ healthy. Therefore, it is very crucial to solve the environmental issues by all possible ways including discouraging non-essential flights.

However, there is no persuasive definition of non-essential flights. In other words, I do not think tourist air travel is non-essential any more. Economic prosperity and technological progress contribute to more and more people travelling around world by airplanes. Air travel is the most fast and convenient way for long distance tourism, which saves traveller’s time cost and relaxes indeed. Moreover, tourist air travel is more significant for our world rather than air travellers as individuals. People from different cultures worldwide could get more chances to know each other by airplane, which is an essential way of world economy and culture interaction.

Furthermore, environmental issues, even air pollution, do not result from a single factor. There are many other more serious reasons like car fumes. As the development of public transportation in my countries, limiting the use of private cars would be more effective and efficient than tourist air travel.

Overall, for the reasons mentioned above, I tend to agree that we should do our best to address environmental issues, but it is not a positive way to be discouraged tourist air travel instead of limiting the use of private cars.