A lot of children spend too much time watching TV or playing video games. How do you think this problem influence the children, the families and the society? What measures should be taken to solve it?

It is true that students nowadays spending endless hours in front of TV and computer screen. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, societies can take steps to mitigate these potential problems.

First of all, there are a variety of negative impacts that children may suffer from. The first noticeable result is excessive waste of time, which can be utilized more wisely in other educational and beneficial activities such as studying or outing as this is a crucial phase for children’s mental and physical development. Additionally, leading such a sedentary lifestyle may be the main precursor to a series of health issues in the long run namely obesity, sleep deprivation or short-sightedness. One of the likely scenarios is that they become couch potatoes, with some snack or sugary foods within reach to make the watching experience more entertaining. This increased calorie intake and constantly sitting pose may be the precedent of serious health problems in the future like obesity or diabetes. From family’s side, the presence of these technological equipments invisibly creates a spiritual gap between family members, as parents no longer spend time understanding about their kids, asking them questions related to their thoughts, study or outdoor activities on a regular basis. Those kids might gradually learn to conceal their feelings in front of parents, and be unwilling to share their day-to-day personal affairs.

In order to tackle this matter, there are several remedies that should be taken into consideration. A simple solution would be for parents to limit their kids’ usage time on TV and computer, and creating more opportunities for family bonding by going outside together, playing sports or daily communicating. Secondly, educationalists should establish extra-curricular programmes for children besides schooltime. Last but not least, authorities should construct more playgrounds and public parks for this youngest part of the society, together with raising awareness of this issue among the community.

All in all, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that are certain to arise in this high-tech era.