Nowadays most people learn academic study in university, but others think we should be encouraged to learn vocational skills more, do you agree or disagree?

Although pursuing an university degree has long been considered essential for getting into the labour market, there is a school of thought that vocational training is rather what the job market demands. While I agree that vocational skills are needed in practice, academic learning still proves its merits in many aspects.

First of all, it is undeniable that studying for a degree at university is considered a crucial factor in getting future work opportunities. Each year, there are millions of applications for tertiary education, and the competition is increasingly intense, which can prove the pivotal importance that the society places on having an academic qualification. Also, rather than getting right into the labour market, that having a more in-depth insight of what students are excelled at and how they decide their career path is preferred and takes time, and universities provide them a chance to do that. Moreover, even though people often think of schools for the main task of teaching subjects rather than practical work-related skills, the fact is that students learn many important soft-skills that are beneficial for their future work, such as problem-solving skills, self-learning ability and teamwork.

Secondly, for some typical niches of profession, a relevant academic background is a prerequisite for selecting candidates for an expected job, whereas taking only vocational training cannot give students adequate credibility. In particular, law, medicine or teaching are those exemplary ones that require abundant time of acquiring specialised knowledge before performing in reality. The time at universities are imperative for them to absorb all those knowledge, and only by learning for such a long time period can they become really qualified for their future career.

All in all, although vocational education nowadays helps the society to solve the problem of skilled labour shortage, I believe that those with tertiary education background are still in favour, in terms of both their knowledge and qualified skills for preparation of future career.