A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

Nowadays, it is argued that tourism is an excellent source of income for many countries on our planet. However, this business can cause a lot of issues in case it is not properly organized. This essay will, firstly, discuss profits from tourism as one of the main benefits of this and secondly, outline the drawbacks of the arguing tendency before making a final note.

To start with, one of the most principle advantages of the travelling business for a certain state is the amount of new workplaces that it generates for the native population. A lot of companies and hotels need to hire more people in order to provide tourists with decent accommodation, catering and transportation. A prime example of this is the recent BBC Arabic article, which revealed that Egypt has two and a half million people working in the tourism service industry. This has resulted in reducing unemployment and increasing the country’s gross domestic product.

On the negative side, tourism can cause unfortunate consequences if not appropriately managed by the local government. One such disadvantage is the rising prices of local goods and services, which harms the development of other sectors of the economy. For instance, after the Saudi Arabian government announced the start of the program “Saudi Vision 2030”, which designed to attract as many travelers as possible, prices for food and apartments in the country increased by 20 percent. This results in rising costs for domestic producers of public goods.

In conclusion, the advantages tourism brings to the country, such as high employment rate, must be weighed against the disadvantages, such as boost of the inflation. In my opinion, benefits of travelling business outweigh its drawbacks with the right government planning.