Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the opinion that it is pointless to spend budgets on remaining community centers that enable citizens to borrow and read books from there because cutting-edge technology provides people with a more effective way to do that. I totally agree with this point of view because using computer technology gives citizens a better source of data and it is more convenient than traditional libraries.

Nowadays, it is evident that digital technology is conducive to helping people approach useful sources of books. First and foremost, computers with internet access can supply a wealth of information for readers because not only official organizations but also individuals can share data in the cyberspace in form of e-books, magazines, and so on. Furthermore, these materials are very diverse with documents on various categories such as environment or education. It is exemplified by an ever-increasing number of students all over the world who have been taking advantage of their computers for self-study thanks to suitable documents found online.

Another compelling reason is that computer technology is highly appreciated owing to its convenience. People in the present day can find many kinds of books with just several clicks instead of going to the libraries and looking for them with difficulty. They can easily read online or download them to serve their own purposes. It sometimes costs a little bit, but free in most cases. Additionally, if people use books on the internet, they may not need to concern about the complicated procedures when borrowing books from brick-and-mortar libraries. The traditional libraries, therefore, become redundant. To illustrate, many libraries in Vietnam have been converted into labs, classrooms, or other public places due to a decreasing number of members especially those who are competent in computer skills.

To sum up, I strongly believe that computer technology can replace libraries functions perfectly because of the tremendous merits it brings. As a result, diminishing or using public libraries for other purposes should be seriously taken into account.