Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology is now replacing their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the significant technology development has generally opened a new era for humanity's standards of living, the meaning of public libraries's mainternance along with computer advancement has raised a controversal debate. While it is undeniable that the improvement on computer's software makes it possible to play the main functions of public libraries, I believe that the crucial roles of the latter are still remain globally-recognized.

The continuous achievements on improving computer technology has provided people a wider range of services that are distributed worldwide. Online libraries, in particular, are considerably one of the most common choice for ones who wants to utilize their limited amount of time. For example, a patient in hospital, despite the lack of opportunities to move, can access on an online library to obtain knowledge at any time. Consequently, that the flexibility and convenience of computer technology improve people's living condition is a generally-agreed fact.

Despite the noticeable benefits of computer advancement, traditional public libraries, to some other extent, possess many advantages in order not to be outshined by the former. Among the commonly-known benefits of this form of social educational area are human interaction and public space of learning. A physical location in form of public libraries enable inhabitants to acquire knowledge not only from several types of materials but also from others, a fact that contributes to a higher level of social interaction within a modern society. On the other hand, public libraries provides places where people can actually stay away from the hustle life and unwind themselves from daily stress, which online libraries failed to achieve. Those advantages has proves that maintaining physical public libraries is generally not a bad investment of local authorities in terms of raising citizen's satisfaction.

From these aforementioned discussion, it is agreeable that while online libraries, accompanied by computer technology, has became increasingly more convenient, public libraries still remain a considerable role in modern society.