Drug abuse is becoming more and more common in many countries. What are some of the problems associated with drug abuse, and what are some of the possible solutions?

With the globally growing number of drug users over the last decade, the abuse of such harmful substance is considered a universal challenge for today’s world. Although this phenomenon has caused several thorny problems, they could be addressed by a number of appropriate remedies.

As people have become increasingly more dependent on drugs and its production has expanded worldwide, many related troubles have emerged. The main negative factor is that the crime rates have been higher, ranging from social offences such as burglary and stealing to capital ones, including murder and trafficking. Therefore, societies have turned into less secure and people’s sense of anxiety has grown, a fact that contributes to the higher stress level around the world. Further complications might include a rise in health problems and the mounting conflict between drug addicts and their families.

There are several measures that governments could perform to mitigate the aforementioned issues. The first, crucial solution would be to increase the citizen awareness about the adverse results of drug abuse by providing infomercials and extracurricular activities at schools, universities and other public places. A second measure could be for governments to tighten the sanctions in order to reduce the number of crime committed by drug addicts. Finally, relatives and counsellors of drug victims, as well as the whole society, should encourage and give them considerable support, which can help them recover and regain their lives.

In conclusion, various solutions can be taken to alleviate the issues that have risen as the number of drug addict increase remarkably.