Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the continuous rise in immigration rates, particularly in developed countries, opinion has been divided on whether foreign language speakers may face severe social and practical issues. Although settling down in another country can lead to several troubles, it is my opinion that it also provides many considerable opportunities.

Living abroad is generally considered challenging, especially for teenagers and young adults, mainly because of cultural differences. This is normally agreed to be one of the most common social problems of this trend, as new citizens may fail to adapt to the lifestyle of that country. Consequently, the lack of interaction and communication with others due to dissimilarity in backgrounds has resulted in the higher level of depression among immigrants. In addition, people living in a foreign country also have to deal with many practical difficulties relating to the language barrier, such as a higher stress level at work and limitation in making friends.

However, moving to another nation also offers people with significant advantages. Among the widely-known benefits of this trend are better living standard and an opportunity to experience a different civilization. Becoming citizens of a developed country where educational and healthcare systems are advanced will undoubtedly provide them more satisfaction and security in daily life. On the other hand, people can broaden their knowledge as they have many chances to enhance their language skills as well as learn about a foreign country’s history, economic and political situations. They can also gain exceptional experiences through a direct approach to its culture every day. Those advantages have proven that immigration is generally beneficial for most people in terms of learning and experiencing.

From these aforementioned discussions, it is agreeable that while living in a nation where one has to speak a foreign language may be challenging and difficult, there are several significant benefits that can outshine those problems.