Thanks to great transportation network in the modern world, moving to a new country is now easier than ever. But Living in a foreign country has benefits and drawbacks. As a person who once lived in a foreign country for years, I totally agree with the statement. There are 3 main reasons to support my view.

The social problem is common for non-native speakers. Although non-native speakers can educate themselves about foreign language, it is relatively hard for them to fully understand every phases and idiom that locals use. Hence, it is harder for non-native speakers to communicate with locals and to find new friends. For instance, when I was an exchanged student in the USA, I did not understand many puns and jokes that my American friends made, resulting in a weird and awkward silence.

Besides the social problem, the practical problem is a big issue for non-native speakers as well. If you can not speak the language fluently, it is harder for you to find a professional job. Fluent communication is key success factor not only inside the company but also between the company and other stakeholders.

The second practical problem is even more common than the first one, communication in daily life. How can you live a normal life when you can not fluently communicate with other people? Unless you really like the challenge, it's not going to be a good experience for you. The basic things that you need to do will be much challenging when you can not speak well. For example, order food at the restaurant, read the traffic sign, and understand the map of the town.

Living in another country does have benefits. However, there are several drawbacks that outweigh those benefits. People should consider those benefits and drawbacks before they make a decision to move to another country.