Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since digital technology is now replacing their function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Library is a social institution. With the advancement in technology, the trend of reading has influenced substantially. Some people assert that libraries are no more essential aspect of learning. However, others are against this view point. This essay will scrutinize both virtues and will suggest a solution for this sophisticated issue.

To embark with, the way of reading has been altered largely in the last decade. As digital equipments like e-books, kindle, online blogs makes it easy to read anywhere and anyplace. To epitomize, kindle is omnipresent. The sale of kindle from Amazon has revealed the interest of the new generation. Moreover, plethora of authors update online journals for the convenience of the readers. Still, this phenomenon does not diminish the need of libraries.

On the contrary, Library is still a prime destination for majority of people to read and borrow books. For instance, a recent study of The Times of India has shown that the Extension Library of Ludhiana issue 1000 books per day, which in turns manifest the priority of library. Apart from this, individuals enjoy to read the printed books instead of the e-books which causes a fatigue of eyes. Not only this, public libraries offers a wide variety of books including plenty of subjects in a systematic way. It lend a helping hand in browsing.

Mulling over the topic, it is a undeniable fact that digital technology has truly modified our reading habbits. Despite of the fact, one cannot declare library as an unnecessary place or a waste of time.