As major cities around the world are growing fast and many problems occur. What are the problems that young people live in cities are caused by continued growth? What solutions do you suggest?

Continued growth in metropolitan areas has been highlighted as an emerging issue, capturing significant public attention due to its implications on individuals of young generations. Identifying the problems behind this pattern could be the key to finding solutions.

It is true that major cities’ growth could be fraught with many pitfalls on young people. First, since major cities are invariably associated with industrialization process for better economic development, the proliferation of industrial parks with manufacturing factories is an inevitable product. This would feed into the increased concentration of exhausted fumes with micro particles, which could penetrate into human lung, making young individuals more susceptible to airborne diseases such as tuberculosis, bronchitis and even lung cancer. Second, due to major cities’s infrastructure betterment, making young individuals migrate from different less-developed regions for employment opportunities, the job competitiveness would ensue. Consequently, young individuals without proper education and qualifications would be dismissed, thereby resorting to social evils such as pickpocketing and drug selling to make ends meet.

However, official authorities could take steps to address these issues. First, in order to reduce the micro particles from industrial factories inhaled daily by citizens of young generations, official authorities should legislate the imposition of carbon tax. By setting specific taxation levels based on each amount of carbon emitted, factories would think twice before releasing carelessly due to the financial burdens they incur, thereby reversing the environmental deterioration. In addition, if governments could channel the foreign investments and public budget into rural areas, employment opportunities could be generated, preventing job migration to urban ares and guaranteeing stable employment for local citizens. For example, Vietnamese countryside regions have received significant monetary injections from many international corporations thanks to government policies, leading to the booming of service and business sectors, reducing unemployment rates considerably in these regions.

In conclusion, urban continued growth could cause environmental and occupational issues for young people. But these problems could be solved by better governmental policies.