Many animals are endangered. Some people argue that we should only protect animals that are useful to humans. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many parts of the world, animal species are on the verge of extinction. Many hold a belief that individuals and governments should only preserve animals that are economically beneficial to human. However, in my opinion, all animals that are being threatened should be protected.

Firstly, it is noteworthy that the interdependence of species is the main characteristic of eco-balance. Many zoological studies have shown that although it is invisible, the survivals of living species are closely intertwined in one way or another. Therefore, it is a mistake to overlook that fact that the underpopulation or the extinction of one species could result in demise of other species. For example, poisonous snakes are widely considered as dangerous animals, because snake venom is fatal to humans; however, the underpopulation of snakes in farming regions has resulted in the overpopulation of rats, having devastating effects on agricultural yields and chronic effects on national food security. This example is the illustration of the fact that all threatened animals should be preserved.

Secondly, the counter-argument raised by objectors to this is that we should only protect animals that are useful to humans, because individuals and governments that are on tight budget have to spend money in various social aspects, typically education and medication. Accordingly, due to limited financial sources, people should protect endangered animals selectively. This justification is reasonable to some degree; however, it is incomplete, what they fail to take into account is

that fact that despite the high expenses of giving long-term commitment to animal preservation, ceasing the progressive extinction of threatened animals should be regarded as the top priority to all governments. For instance, even in poor countries which are confronting with budget deficiency, fiscal policies have been introduced to save creatures from extinction due to environmental concerns. From this example, one can observe that monetary burdens should not be cited as a reason to save useful animals only.