Many animals are endangered. Some people argue that we should only protect animals that are useful to humans. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many parts of the world, endangered animals are on the verge of extinction. Many hold a belief that individuals and governments should only preserve species that are economically beneficial to humans. However, to the best of my knowledge, all animals that are being threatened should be protected for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is note-worthy that the interdependence of species is the main characteristic of eco-balance. Nowadays, many zoological studies have shown that although it is invisible, the survivals of living species are closely intertwined in one way or another. Therefore, it will be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that the underpopulation of one species is accompanied by demise of other species. For example, poisonous snakes are regarded as dangerous animals; however, the extinction of snakes in farming regions has resulted in the overpopulation of rats, which have chronic effects on agricultural yields. This example is the illustration of the fact that all animals should be preserved.

Secondly, the counter-argument raised by objectors to this is that we should only protect useful animals, because governments and individuals that are on the tight budget have to spend money on various social aspects, typically education and medication. This argument could be true to some extent; however, it is incomplete. What they fail to take into account is the fact that despite high expenses of animal preservation, deterring the extinction of endangered species is widely regarded as the top priority of governments. Furthermore, we are not able to predict the future and some species that are classified as unuseful to humans.

In conclusion, all animals in danger of extinction should be protected for the reasons mentioned above.