In many countries, traditional foods are being replaced by international fast foods.
This is having a negative effect on both families and societies. To what extent do you
agree or disagree with this opinion?
In many parts of the world, families and societies are taking in
much more international fast foods than traditional ones. I
believe this growing tendency is exerting erosive effects on not
only families but also societies.
Firstly, it is noteworthy that the increasing popularity of fast
foods has destructive impacts on the solidarity of family.
Sociological studies have shown that although it is invisible,
traditional foods in daily meals play an instrument in the
enhancement of family ties. Therefore, it will be a mistake to
overlook the fact thatthe convenience of international fast foods
is at the expense of bonding time that people have with their
family members to enhance family relations. For example, the
ever-accelerated living tempo and fierce competition make
people have insufficient time for their family, especially in double
income families where both parents are working as bread-
winners, preparing for a delicious meal and eating together are
ideal activities for family members to share experiences, joys and
sorrows. This example is the illustration of the fact that the
consumption of fast foods for its convenience deprives people of
the opportunity to tighten family unity.
Secondly, the counter-argument raised by objectors to this is
that the pervasiveness of international fast foods is a positive
indicator of globalization and social, economic development.
Because in modern society with ever-increasing pace of life, the
consumption of fast foods that are prepared and readily available
is time-efficient, especially to those who are time-minded with
busy working schedule and. This justification is reasonable to
some extent. However, it is incomplete; what they fail to take
into account is that fact thatfrom cultural perspective, it will cast
a shadow on the inheritance of long-established customs. For
instance, in most cultures, traditional foods are integral parts of
age-old customs, religious events, sacred rituals, cultural
ceremonies as the presence of traditional foods represents
solemnity, eternity. Hence, one can observe that the progressive
vanishment of traditional foods in daily lives is having adverse
impacts on the preservation of local cuisines, national identities.
In conclusion, people should consider the fact that the
increasing prevalence of fast foods has chronic effects on family
unity and cultural conservation as mentioned above.