Many animals are endangered. Some people argue that we should only protect animals that are useful to humans. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many parts of the world, animal species are on the verge of extinction. Many hold a belief that individuals and governments should only preserve animals that are economically beneficial to human. However, to the best of my knowledge, all animals that are being threatened should be protected.

Firstly, it is noteworthy that the interdependence of species is the main characteristic of eco-balance. Many zoological studies have shown that although it is invisible, the survivals of living species are closely intertwined in one way or another. Therefore, it is a grave mistake to overlook that fact that the extinction of one species is accompanied by demise of other species. For example, poisonous snakes are widely considered as dangerous animals; however, the underpopulation of snakes in farming regions has resulted in the overpopulation of rats, which have chronic effects on agricultural yields. This example is the illustration of the fact that all threatened animals should be preserved.

Secondly, the counter-argument raised by objectors to this is that we should only protect animals that are useful to humans, because individuals and governments that are on tight budget have to spend money in various social aspects, typically education and medication. This argument is reasonable to some degree; however, it is incomplete, what they fail to take into account is

the fact that despite the high expenses of animal preservation, deterring the extinction of threatened animals should be regarded as the top priority to all governments. Futhermore, we are not able to predict the future and some species that are classify as unuseful to humans.

In conclusion, all animals in danger of extinction should be protected for the reasons mentioned above