Some people believe that if a police officer carries guns, it can encourage a higher level of violence. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many hold a belief that the policy allowing police officers to carry guns is accompanied by the increasing number of violent crimes on social life. However, to the best of my knowledge, this pessimism is not grounded for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is note-worthy that police officers are responsible for deterring the latent criminals and taking care of citizens’ safety which would be guaranteed by gun-carrying action. Nowadays, many sociological studies have shown that although it is invisible, many people who intend to commit a crime are inclined to quit taking action if they are aware of the serious consequences of meeting gun-carrying police. Therefore, it will be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that guns are one of the effective tools to maintain social order and social safety in real life.

Secondly, the counter-argument raised by objectors to this is that police officers taking guns on duty would raise the level of violent crime, because this policy may add fuel to the fire of gun culture. This argument could be true to some extent; however, it is incomplete. What they fail to take into account is the fact that authorities and governments enacted many strict laws about gun ownership. For instance, some robberies who use guns to rob the bank would face up to more serious punishments than other normal criminals.

According to the above analysis, we can conclude that there are chronic positive effects on citizens regarding gun-carrying police for reasons mentioned above.