Some people believe that if a police officer carries guns, it can encourage a higher level of violence. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There have always been voices that argue against the use of weapons by law enforcement, even in legitimate situations, due to concerns about escalating violence and crime. I do not think that there is much correlation between arming police officers and increased crime.

From a hypothetical perspective, over-militarized police officers or armed ones who just lack of protocol and ethical training may create an atmosphere of tension and fear, making individuals more likely to react with aggression or resistance. Likewise, if the suspects are also armed, a verbal confrontation is likely to turn into a gun battle. On the other hand, by shifting towards alternative to using force, like negation, non-lethal tools and techniques, this escalated high-risk situation would be reduced.

However, it is implausible and uncompelling to accuse armed police officers for causing more violence and crime. In contrast to assumed scenarios above, it can be reasonable to allow the use of firearms by law enforcement in actual situations, which nevertheless deters potential crimes and secures the public safety more effectively. Additionally, social factors and regulations, such as the legality of civilian firearm ownership in some countries, added to economic recession and high unemployment, are part of the root causes of higher levels of crimes rather than weaponizing police officers. Even if police officers use other de-escalation tactics and tools with these concerns prevailing, we cannot expect them to mitigate the conflicts and tension through peaceful means.

In conclusion, permission of the use of forceful interventions may heighten the levels of violence especially if it is not necessary or if it is used indiscriminately. However, there are also situations where weapon use by police officers is imperative to prevent further harm.