Some people believe the purpose of education is to prepare people to be useful members for society. Others say that the purpose of education is to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Education is often claimed as a public service devised to make individuals more productive for the entire society; however, I want to argue that the contrary view, education is self-serving, also has sound judgement.

Whether economies are advanced or not has been mixed, in line with productivity of industries where all lines of walk are dedicating themselves. To ensure productivity, education is set compulsory so that more people have knowledge and skills they need to succeed in a demanding society and economy. This is why we instill knowledge to develop literacy, numeracy and vocational skills through academic as well as technical education. People need to be educated and trained to become productive and qualified employees in various sectors and industries. The function of education is to teach one to have critical and innovative thinking, to think intensively about a topic so that they can constantly produce novelty into science in the physical world. Improvement in any domain, from the civic engineering, to agriculture and even to space exploration, is derived from people who learn and conclude concepts and theories available now through scholastic years. Cultures ranging from transcripts, poetry or forms of artistic works have been well preserved in printed materials. Education has an intrinsic value as an instrument for people to decode the past civilization, to present it and hopefully pass it on to the future generations. Education is provided to us so that we are equipped with abilities to read and understand literature and history.

Three purposes of education, to grow our economy, advance technology and nurture our culture are vital. However, there is also a fourth, very practical purpose to it that our life will be led towards better and up-moving direction. In a much broader way, people choose to get an education in order to enhance behavior and thoughts, to distinguish from others and this further develops a positive attitude in their minds helping them combat different problems that crawl up in the way of achieving their life goals. In other words, well educated people are more determined and confident, as education is to help people weed out all the presumptions that they may face failure. In a more specific facet, education should serve as a basic tool for shaping the career of learners. The reason behind that is simple: the first step individuals take to develop a career is to undertake some training and education. Most of us spend a dozen of years or longer time exposing ourselves to varying dimensions of learning, not primarily for building up a more prosperous society but to get employed in an increasingly demanding job market. Most of university enrollee aim at maximizing chances of finding a decent and well-paid job in a career that interests them most.

In conclusion, the notion that education is in the public interest should not be set in a position against its opposition that it is in the individual interest.