Some people believe that if a police officer carries guns, it can encourage a higher level of violence. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There have been opponents against the permission of any form of weapons by law enforcement in legitimate situations, claiming that it inevitably escalates violence and crime. This essay will examine the arguments against the use of forceful interventions and concludes that while weapon use should be minimized wherever possible, it is sometimes a necessary last resort.

According to the protesters, granting powers of using weapons to law enforcement officers endanger the lives and safety of innocent civilians and can only lead to increased violence and other aggressive responses. The reason behind it is that allowing weapon use by police officers is an invitation for excessive use of force and brutality by both police and suspects. Furthermore, giving them the right to use guns under certain circumstance will only serve to institutionalize racism and discrimination. as minorities will more likely be disproportionately targeted by armed police officers.

In contrast, it cannot be entirely accurate to solely blame armed police officers for causing more violence and crime. There are situations which need the use of firearms by law enforcement to deter potential crimes and safeguard the public safety. Such scenario may include situations where armed individuals pose a clear and present danger to the community. In such a circumstance, a police officer's ability to use their firearm in defense of themselves and innocent bystanders is the practice of combating criminal activities. It should also be noted that the mere fact that police officers carry weapons is often sufficient to deter violent individuals or groups from taking further action, known as deterrence effect. In short words, weaponizing police officers help reduce crime rates.

In conclusion, we cannot prohibit the permission of the use of forceful interventions completely due to the possibility of escalation in violence. It is crucial that police departments regularly train their officers to minimize the likelihood of excessive use of force and abuse of their authority and only resort to weapon use when all other methods have failed.