Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world more people share the same language. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this?

Today’s world has seen the spreading migration and increased urbanization bridge the gap between countries in aspects such as cultures whilst this assimilation causes the unstoppable loss of certain languages, especially those spoken by small proportions of population. In my opinion, while major language speakers would definitely embrace a more user-friendly environment for accessing knowledge and expanding their economic colonies, with mounting minor speakers willing to or feeling obliged to cease their own languages, consequences of losing what we can trace back to our humanity would be born by all.

Luck as people who speak a dominant language as native speakers or shifters, inter-generational language transmission will help them leverage their own resources. Seeking a vast global market has proven to be the key to business expansion and profit maximization in the scenario when native industries combat the global competition. For example, as more people in not-English-speaking regions use universal languages, such as English, it will facilitate a further penetration of corporations and foreign capitals of many western countries through the boarders into the developing countries like China. In addition, language unification should not be blamed just for the advocacy of diversity; instead, it has turned out to be favorable in some contexts. It can be justified by the facts that sharing a common language will not only empower students or workers to migrate across language regions, but for exchanging information and communication in elite natural sciences such as physics or chemistry, the use of an official languages also helps break linguistic constraints for all, since it is apparently impractical to require scientists to reach a high fluency of many different languages during each seminar.

On the other hand, the struggle all the dying languages have been put through has done more harm than good for us. Even for any language who only owns several speakers, the language itself holds the secret to a particular history, the backlog of our generational wisdom and the tales of societal changes, passed down orally or transcribed in hope that they are to be picked up and spread. However, as each of endangered languages disappears in succession, we will lose access to written and oral accounts of what has made us today. Unfortunately, the tribulations of this will reach our cultural identity. Various forms of arts like Peking Opera or River Dance can only identified and delivered by Chinese or Irish. Yet the loss of them eventually deprive their speakers of their belongings and origins.

In conclusion, agreeing on and establishing a universal language is literally impossible and controversial. It is true official languages speakers will appreciate the linguistic colonization, but in mu opinion, the greater influential results will be more likely to be detrimental and destructive for cultural preservation and perceived statelessness.