Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world more people share the same language. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this?

Today's world has seen the spreading migration and increased urbanization bridge the gap between countries in aspects such as cultures whilst this assimilation causes the unstoppable loss of certain languages, especially those spoken by small proportions of population. In my opinion, while unification of languages might be a solution to challenges for mutual understanding, cooperation and progress, their diversity should be maintained so that we could still retain the richness and complexity of human experiences.

Language unification is the elimination of linguistic barrier impeding communication and collaborations between individuals, groups and nations. When a universal language is gradually spreading in more areas, there would be less need for translation, interpretation and language learning. This saves time, money and effort for each individuals. From the perspective of the whole community, a shared language can facilitate the exchange of ideas, information or values, foster empathy and respect among different cultures. It also increases the efficiency and effectiveness in different domains such as business, education and diplomacy.

However, a certain language going viral among a larger number of speakers definitely poses bigger challenges and limitations. The first obstacle to be encountered is the loss of linguistic diversity and cultural heritage. In worse cases, some may argue that the imposition of a single language could lead to the extinction or marginalization of minorities who use their own languages to show their national identity, expression and aesthetics. In reality, as higher populations speak a certain language, it is expected that there will be an imposition of using it, which is difficult practically and technically. Even if a language was chosen as the official and mandatory one, it would require massive investment in teaching, learning and infrastructure to make sure that everyone in the community has access to it and can use it effectively. The transition from localization to generalization could take decades or even centuries, during which many language-related problems and conflicts could arise or persist.

In conclusion, there will be strong objections against the unification of languages when considering the feasibility and desirability of implementing it, even though it may ease the tension during global communication and in business contexts.