In many cities, an increasing number of people do not know their neighbors and the sense of community is lost. What are the causes and measures to turn it around?

The sense of social unity is on the decline, whereas the isolated lifestyle of city dwellers is on the increase. This tendency might be the consequence of the emerging industry 4.0 era. To address such a burning issue, the authority of a community must take action to make residents become acquaintances.

With respect to the reason why urban people are distant to their neighbors, the novel technological revolution is the matter in question here. Because nowadays people can Google anything they need to know with a click of a button, they no longer think about asking others for help. For example, neighbors used to bump into each other and ask the other person to do small favors such as repairing electricity or fixing plumbs. On top of that, people also have various responsibilities like career, children as well as family, which takes up nearly all of their day. Every urban people have to work from nine to five, and then come home to domestic duties such as preparing dinner for their kids.

Regarding the approach to resolving this loss of public interaction, the head of the community should create more opportunities to boost communication. If there are more local events in a residential area, people who live there will be encouraged to go out and have higher chances to make friends. These occasions, however, must not be formal, but rather entertaining and attractive. For instance, local citizens may come to a Sunday BBQ party which is held by the local authority and provides free admission. It will additionally be more interesting if there are sessions of talks where moms of similar hobbies can meet up and exchange speeches.

In conclusion, people are growing away from one another due to the result of an ever-increasing number of household responsibilities. To bring them closer again, events organized by local communities should be held frequently.