As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and present your own opinion.

As the result of soaring traffic volume, it is assumed that the party who should be responsible for road maintenance is the government, while many argue that car-owners should share the responsibility. On one hand, I am inclined to believe that the state provides increasingly benefits to infrastructure. On the other hand, hardly can we deny the role of drivers.

To assess the impact of the government, we must bring national budgets into perspective. Assuming each individuals have a portion of their income deducted as a revenue for the national budgets, that amount of money can be allocated to various sectors, which includes transportation. Not only will sewer drains be better built so that flash flooding does not clog them, but the street network will also be able to adapt to the increase car number. Either new lanes or overpasses, for instance, can be added to alleviate traffic congestion. Another reason why the government should pay for these projects is that the authority in control of the country should be responsible for the life quality of its citizens.

Although so far, one can readily draw the conclusion that the citizens do not play a big role, we must put their responsibility into focus before judging whether they can exert an influence. Via toll charge, commuters are able to contribute a considerable amount of money aside from their income tax. Therefore, when the government is not the only one to bear the construction cost, there will be financial constraint, ensuring the focus is on the quality instead of the expenditure. On top of that, as the amount of car fee gets exorbitant, more people are discourage to own the personal vehicles and would turn to public transports as their daily means of getting around.

Taking both sides into consideration, they point me to the conclusion that both the government and each citizens should work in tandem. From where i stand, the government is still more effective as far as distribution and approriate use of fund are concerned.