In the past two decades, there was a sudden increase in the production of cars and its usage, they are used in urban as well as, in rural areas. These vehicles have provided an easy and comfortable transportation, and also had a huge impact on the lives of people. Many individuals often argue that the vehicle drivers are responsible for the road systems; however, others, including myself believe that the government should take care of situations of the roads for betterment of people.

A number of individuals, believe that the car drivers should take the responsibilty due to the overuse of the roads. Compared to other means of transport, like a motorcycle, a car obviously occupies more space but also, damages the quality of the road due to its large size and weight. For instance, it was estimated that in Thailand in 2015 that, the number of private cars made up to 85% of the total vehicles commuting on the roads. As a result, it is evident that there is an urge for the expansion and efficiency development for the safe and comfortable transportation. Therefore, it is reasonable to assign the cost of road systems to the car drivers.

However, I believe that, the expenditure on the road infrastructure should be incurred by the government for multiple reasons. Firstly, main goal of the higher authorities is to fulfil the basic requirements and enhancing the living standards of the people. Furthermore, developments of the roads can be beneficial for the country's economy and it should be prioritized first. Secondly, the majority of the countries charge a high amount of tax in order to own a car and drive on roads, and therefore, it is unfair to solely lay responsibility on the shoulders of car drivers. For example, in Vietnam the government charges about 40-45% tax for car prices. therefore, it is better to invest that money on the road infrastructure, rather than forcing people to pay it.

In conclusion, although, many individuals often argue that, responsibility of road infrastructure should be layed on car owners and it is also quite convincing to some extent. I believe that, the government should take the full responsibility of it.