As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think the drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, as more and more cars are being owned, the subject of who has the responsibilities for covering the increasing amount of money that has to be spent on improving the road systems has been becoming controversial. While I accept that there are persuasive arguments in favor of government paying, I believe that car owners have to play a role in this matter as well.

On the one hand, drivers covering the costs could be advantageous. First and foremost, as drivers would be the ones who pay, instead of curbing public spending on developing road systems, the government could allocate more resources to other systems, such as healthcare systems or educational programs, which are constantly in need of new developments. For example, spending more on cancer research in order to save more desperate lives, or on illiterate eradication programs in rural areas. Second, this could be a crucial method to encourage the utilizing of many means of public transportation, such as trains or buses. In turn, as more people use public transport instead of driving their own cars, the unsolved problem of traffic jams in various metropolises may finally found its needed solution. Singapore is the perfect example which embodies this theory. Finally, as the government doesn't have to cover expenditure on road systems as well, the pressure of tax funding by citizens could be released and less tax money would have to be collected.

On the other hand, spending public money on improving road systems is one of the major responsibilities of government. In my opinion, I believe that government sponsorship of road development could be a necessary stage in ensuring the welfare state of its citizens. As the people don't have to worry about this kind of expenditure also, they could be more competent with the country they live in.

By and large, while I support the fact that government should be paying the amount of money for road repair and improvement, I believe car owners have to hold a partial responsibility as well.