In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks ?

People hold different views about the increase of using video surveillance in many cities in recent years. While some people argue that this invades their privacy, I believe that there are more benefits than drawbacks.

On the one hand, some people disapprove of using security cameras because they see this as an invasion of privacy. They are constantly observed whether they are out on the street, in shopping malls, or at bus stations. In addition, their images would be recorded and sent to security organizations and governments. Therefore, many people feel uncomfortable, even annoyed in public areas. In worst cases, hackers could play havoc with security surveillance systems and spread these images of people on social networks.

On the other hand, I believe that people would benefit from using video cameras to keep an eye on public places. Firstly, widespread video surveillance would help to deter criminals and prevent crimes. For example, minor crimes such as pickpocketing and shoplifting would hardly take place because they know that security camera systems are recording their every action. As a result, the use of CCTV cameras would make cities safer. Secondly, increasing video cameras could improve the efficiency of the police. Specifically, the police could save a lot of time because they could monitor security through screens instead of going on patrols. Thanks to recordings from video surveillance, the police would have more evidence to investigate cases.

In conclusion, I would argue that the advantages of the use of video security systems in public places outweigh the disadvantages.