Many companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think this is good for the world of sports, while others think there are disadvantages of this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

When the issue of sports sponsorship comes into view, there exist conflicting opinions. Many people hold the notion that funds are beneficial to the sports industry; meanwhile, others claim that this brings a great number of drawbacks. This essay aims at discussing both views before presenting my opinion.

On the one hand, there are numerous advantages in subsidizing sports. Firstly, sponsoring creates a variety of chances for players to showcase their talents. Thanks to sponsors, adults can build their career on sports, and at the same time, many unprivileged children and youngsters are able to not only pursue their interests but develop their skills to become sports professors as well. Furthermore, financing sports helps to hold many competitions. In other words, big sport events need a great amount of money from enterprises; thus, founders of these competitions may have to face bankruptcy without this source of money. Take the FIFA World Cup as an illustration. When the World Cup is held, it always attracts many famous sponsors such as Nike, Puma and Adidas. However, in 2002, FIFA World Cup failed to call for support from brands; as a result, the ticket price of this competition doubled and many people could not afford buying one. Consequently, the president of this corporation had to declare bankruptcy for his enormous debt. What can be inferred from this is that sponsorships play a crucial role in the sports industry, especially sport competitions.

On the other hand, sponsorship brings a wide range of drawbacks to sports. A notable disadvantage of backing sports is its effects on audiences and viewers. To be more specific, when a competition is sponsored by banned or restricted brands such as tobacco or cigarettes companies, the viewers are probably affected negatively. The AFC Cup in Vietnam serves as a perfect example of this problem. The number of customers, who are mostly young people, buying tobacco is recorded to rocket after this brand becomes AFC Cup’s sponsor. This directly suggests that fundings from controversial brands and items can have adverse effects on the society, especially fans and spectators of the sport competitions.

In conclusion, although sport benefits extensively from bankrolling, its cons should not be ignored. From my perspective, sponsors should invest more money in this industry because they are vital in fostering young talents and holding competitions, which are indispensable in sports.