In many countries around the world the lofe expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion.

Since the quality of life of people in developed countries is getting better people have been liveing longer periods than their ancestors used to. However, what benefits could it bring to our society and in turn what are its drawbacks? While I do believe it has many advantages in many ways I think the cons of this outweighs them in the long term.

On positive sides, more elderly people living around us in our society the more chances of learning from their rich experiences. People aee living longer , it means most of them have gone through a lot of difficulties and changes during their lifetime which all could be valuable lessons for young generation. For instance, we build the future based on past experiences of wrong decisions and conpelling ones in which elderly members of the society play an important role preventing us from making costly mistakes and giving us directions based on their rich backgrounds.

Not only that, increase in life expectency could also mean lots of economic benefits to a country. Because the population grows in numbers so are the regular tax payers and service users. Last but not least, parents who are in their 30th or 40th have a lot to do which is why they can not spend much time to bring up their children. This duty is left up to grandparents who are a source of wisdom and teach the young generation moral values.

Turning to dusadvantages, as people are expected to live longer the population goes up which creates both environmental and economic issues. Firsly, the more people living in a country implies more wastes that have been greatly deteriorating the envuronment. Moreover, although increase in life expectancy can bring lots of benefits to the economy it comes with its own destructive effects for the economy. Because the governments have to give away huge amount of money for pensioners that could obviously cause some funding shortages. As a reslut, country's prosperity slows down because of not being able to subsidise money for other areas to develop a country and increase the income.

To sum up, rise in life expectency has both advantages and disadvantages. I personally thing that the negative outcomes of this change are more destructive to the economy and the surroundings.