In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?f

In many regions all around the world, the countryside population is dwindling due to people moving to the cities. This is because rural people seek better life standards available in the towns. In my opinion, the development is negative as it could bring about many problems.

Firstly, more rural people living in the cities increases the use of vehicles, which could emit more exhaust fumes to the environment. As people assemble in the cities, the number of personal vehicles such as cars or motorbikes would increase, and the exhaust fumes from these means of transportation could deteriorate the quality of the environment. According to Vnexpress, the air quality in Hanoi is worsening every day mainly because of emissions from transport, which could affect Hanoians' immune systems and health.

Moreover, the increasing number of rural people moving to metropolitan areas precipitates overpopulation. Thus, green space is transformed into housing areas to fulfil the housing need of people, leading to cities without nature and fresh air. The increasing population in the cities means fewer free spaces for parks and trees and severe housing density, resulting in people feeling stifled by the cities' environment. Hanoi's citizens, for example, always complain about the city's lack of parks since many green areas in Hanoi are converted into tall buildings and houses.

In conclusion, the decreasing rural population due to people moving to the towns could worsen the environmental quality and steal green spaces for trees or parks in metropolitan areas. Thus, I believe this development contributes badly to people.