In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development.

In a myriad of nations around the globe, people living in the countryside have a prevalent tendency to flock to urban areas which results in the reduction in the countryside’s population. In this essay, I would evaluate the positivity and negativity of this development before proposing whether it is beneficial or detrimental to our society.

On the other hand, there are several drawbacks that is associated with the tendency of migration to urban areas. First, this trend will make the cities become overloaded with a huge density of population because of inadequate facilities and infrastructures which will cause numerous challenges to living conditions such as traffic congestion as rush hour and numerous kinds of pollution, especially air pollution and noise pollution. Taking Ho Chi Minh City as a typical example, this city has been reported to be one of the most contaminated cities in Viet Nam due to the overpopulation when people from distinctive regions move to there for a settlement. Additionally, it will be difficult for the local government to control over their residents which can result in the increasing number of crimes in and pose threat to all inhabitants among the cities.

However, the benefits of urban areas are undeniable which can enable migrants to develop remarkably. Chief among that is creating more job opportunities for people from remote areas to enhance their career path which can enrich the workforce of the metropolitans to catch up with the rapid industrialization in contemporary society, so it will pave the way for people from remote areas to be employed by prestigious organizations and reach numerous successful achievements in the future. Moreover, when migrating to cities, people will be facilitated to improve their living condition with the assistance of modern devices and artificial tools that help people to multiple tasks without any troubles in daily life.

In conclusion, even though cities bring several benefits for individuals from rural areas, the negative overwhelms the positive with inevitable disadvantages which results in difficulties for both city dwellers and migrants to face.