Some people say the fashion industry has a bad effect on people’s lives.

Do you agree?

Presently, whether or not fashion industry is an open-ended source of debate. It is often claimed that the fashion industry affects the public badly. In my opinion, I support this statement for several reasons.

People are aware of their appearance in front of others; therefore, they pay much attention to how they dress every day. Instant fashion trends not only create a huge change in the fashion industry, but they also have a bad influence on people's opinions on appearance. For example, the fashion industry being intermittent and short-lived influences people to put more effort in their appearance, thus, they would throw away their old clothes and spend a lot of money on the trendiest jeans or shoes. Moreover, the fashion industry creates appearance obsession in people; thus, it leads to many problems such as depresion or self-deprecation if people dress obsoletely to the newest fashion trend.

Fashion is not only about clothes but it is also related to luxurity. According to a survey conducted by well-known fashion magazine, to follow the fashion trend, the public are willing to spend tons of money on luxury brands such as Chanel or Dior. However, this results in an excessive waste in the way people buy clothes because clothes come from famous brands are expensive. Buying highpriced clothes just to be fashionable is unnecessary. Furthermore, spending money on expensive clothes just to be trendy can cause many individuals to suffer from monetary problems such as debts.

In conclusion, the fashion industry has a negative impact on the society because it not only makes people become obsessed with their outlooks but it also brings about financial issues due to the high prices of clothes.