In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that it is the government's responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is widely believed that the primary reason behind childhood obesity and illness could be the lack of government effort and policy. While this assertion is reasonable to some extent, I would contend that it is the parents’ responsibility that plays a decisive role in dealing with these health problems since they are the primary guardians of their children.

It is valid to assert that government should take responsibility for addressing the problem of child obesity. The laws and policies enacted widely over the country can promote a healthier lifestyle among the citizens and therefore curb the obesity rate among children. By prohibiting advertising and selling sugary drinks and food for kids, the government can gradually change children’s dietary habits to live healthier and lose weight. This is evident from the fact that the Vietnamese government has promulgated an official instruction on the local primary schools to provide fresh and low-fat school meals for children and encourage them to participate in more physical activities. Thanks to this legitimate effort, the Vietnamese obesity rate among children has been successfully curbed in the last 15 years.

However, besides the government, parents should shoulder the burden of solving the health problems of children as well. As parents are the primary guardians who take responsibility for feeding and taking care of their kids most of the time, they can completely monitor their children’s diet and physical exercise routine. Moreover, due to their profound influence on children’s awareness and behaviors, parents tend to shape their kids’ dietary and exercise habits. By following their parents’ daily routines, children often share the same eating preferences and exercise commitments with their parents. To give an example, a recent survey has reported that the frequency of consuming fast food by European children is 73% similar to that of their parents. Therefore, to improve their children’s physical health and prevent their children from ailments associated with obesity, it is necessary for parents to directly assume their responsibility as primary guardians and rectify their own habits of eating and exercise.

In conclusion, while the government should take the leading role in tackling the issues of child obesity and poor health conditions by enforcing the law, I strongly believe that parents should also share this responsibility as they are more accountable for their kid’s health.