In most countries, prison is an effective solution for the problem. Some people think it is a more effective solution to provide a better education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the decline in crime rates would be achieved more remarkably through better education rather than prison sentences. Nevertheless, I disagree with this opinion because of their own distinctive and incomparable roles.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why prisons have a profound impact on decreasing the level of crimes. Stringent imprisonment policy acts as a deterrent to would-be law breakers because it helps people to be full aware of serious consequences of committing crime. Moreover, sentences of imprisonment ensure the safety for other civilian. Once serious offenders are incarcerated, they stand no chance to pose threaten to society. This explains why in 1990s, global citizens used to live in fear while Osama bin Laden was still at large.

On the other hand, I agree that educational methods also play a complementary role in reducing the illegal actions. While prison is a direct and immediate solution to heinous crime, education seems to be a long-term key because it could eliminate crime from its root. For those who have no previous conviction, basic knowledge of laws and crime prevention can help them to develop deeper understanding of correct moral behaviours and avoid situations which may get involved in offence. Furthermore, it is also necessary to offer criminals with educational programme in gaol. To start with, it allows the offenders to be more confident to re-enter their normal life. It is common that recidivism is blamed for the unemployment after release from jail due to the lack of skills and experience. Now, the vocational training in jail which equips them with useful skills will afford them opportunities to get a decent job and rehabilitate to become good civilians.

In conclusion, I believe that it is advisable for the government to continue using detainment as a form of punishment and apply study programme in schools and prisons at the same time.