In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The problem of childhood obesity and its consequences for physical health has become a pressing issue globally, with some arguing that the government is primarily responsible. While this assertion is reasonable to some extent, I would contend that the parents should take some responsibility as well as they are the primary guardians of their children.

It is valid to assert that the government should assume responsibility for tackling the problem of child obesity. States have the power and resources to enact laws or policies that can actively promote a healthier lifestyle and therefore curb the obesity rate among children. Consequently, children can be compelled to comply with these policies and change their habits to live more healthily and lose weight. To give an example, the Vietnamese government has recently promulgated a directive that requires local schools to provide healthy school meals, encourages children to engage in physical activities, and prohibits the advertising and sharing of sugary drinks and food. This is intended to curb the obesity rate among children in Vietnam, which has been rising in the past decade.

However, the parents of these children should assume a secondary role in rectifying this problem as well. Since they are already the primary guardians responsible for feeding and taking care of their offspring, it is only natural for parents to monitor their diet and commitment to exercise. If parents shirk these obligations, then their children are more likely to remain obese and in poor health in the long term. For example, a recent survey has reported that the majority of European parents typically encourage their children to engage in weekly exercise programs to ensure that they will maintain a healthy weight. They believe in this way, children can physically develop normally and not be greatly affected by ailments associated with obesity.

In conclusion, while the government should take a leading responsibility in tackling the problem of child obesity given their legitimate power in enacting laws, I would ultimately assert that the parents should also share this burden as they are more directly accountable for their children’s health in terms of their dietary and exercise habits.