In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have responsibility. What extent do you agree or disagree

Essay:

Childhood obesity has become a typical sign of deteriorating public health on the world as a whole. While I agree that the government should have responsibility due to shortages of sports infrastructure and overloaded education curriculum, I also believe that it is the parents that should also share the duties because of their lack of time and poor choice of diet for their kids

On the one hand, the authorities should be responsible for this unhealthy trend because of various reasons. First, the authorities these days has given prior to economic developing and forgotten about consolidate children sports infrastructure. As a result, children opt to immerse themselves in watching movie instead of taking part in outdoor activities in their freetime, which leads to high proportion of obesity in childhood. Second, with the overburdened school curriculum in some countries, children tend to stay at home doing nothing but complete their homework, which means less time for them with their exercising. Unless the school schedule for children is tailored by the government, this would axiomatically detrimentally affects their well-being.

On the other hand, the heavy responsibility also hinges on the parents. For one things, parents are busy with their duties and not spend enough time on having more physical activities on a daily basis with their offspring, which turns children into sedentary lifestyle and jeopardise their health. Also, an obese child is inextricably linked to excessive nutrients from their intake. Parents then should always keep an eye on what their children are eating and educate them about the long-term consequences of an unbalanced diet to deter their babies from eating unhealthy food. The government could not curb the children eating and exercising habits as well as their parents in these aforementioned situations.

All in all, I am of the opinion that not only the government but also parents should join hand in helping to curb the childhood obesity epidemic.