Recently, it has been argued if the surrounding could have detrimental effects on human-being. While I agree that living in big cities might jeopardize our health due to environmental contamination and shortages of time to take care of themselves, I also advocate that people who live in big cities might have numerous opportunities to improve their lives thanks to better healthcare and medical investment.

On the one hand, the booming of urban population might have a range of negative long-term consequence for human being. First, the higher population, the more emissions from vehicle, the more harm for people. For instance, a recent study by Hue Medical University found that people who lived in big cities were two-times higher respiratory disorder risks than the rural ones. Second, as a part of modernization process, people are becoming increasingly busy, then they are opting to buy fast food instead of self-catering ones. If this situation prolong, the harmful ingredients of junk food would definitely be involved in deterioration in their mental and physical health.

On the other hand, big cities often spend more state budgets on improving medical infrastructure. An optimal transportation framework allows an emergency patient to be visited doctors earlier. For example, a stroke person who lives in distant mountainous area might have more opportunities to be better recovery if he lives in a metropolis. In addition, that big cities have many fully equipped hospital is axiomatic, which enable people to be early screened for their health yearly in order to improve their health. In contrast, the rural, because of not approaching to modern health screening, often represent final stage of disease when seeing their doctor.

In conclusion, although I do not neglect the generally acknowledged drawbacks of living in metropolis, I believe that some aspects of city life are making life healthier for those who live there.