In many countries, government spends money to improve the internet access?

Why is this happening?

Is it appropriate that government spend money on this?

There are an increasing number of people who are using the internet as part of everyday’s life. In some countries, technological advances such as the internet have been funded by the government. I believe that global competition is a valid argument for the government to pour resources into this and it is beneficial to the country as a whole.

To begin with, globalization is a primary reason for the government to allocate funds in strengthening the internet access. As most countries economy is reliant to a worldwide integration of trade and business, the competition to be connected with different countries using the internet post a greater challenge. Funding this will lead to a better communication between other nations. For instance, in a business forum held in Brisbane Australia, the majority of the members of the international business group agreed that a faster connection on the internet will yield to a better growth in the business and the economy. Thus, it makes it clear that the cost of funding is justified.

Furthermore, the money that the government spent on improving internet connection will be return back to the government resources through tax payment. The growth of the economy will bring enormous business in the country, therefore more tax collection will be expected to come from business and employment. This will enable the government to allocate more funds in the health, education, and infrastructure that will benefit all the members of society. For example, Singapore has been voted in ASEAN as the most livable country in Asia because of its development in technology alongside with other government benefits that everyone is receiving.

In conclusion, although the government has a priority expenditure such as health and education, I believe that it is also worthwhile to invest in the technology that will benefit us all.