In many countries, government spent a large amount of money on improving internet access. Why is it happening and do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money?

In this day and age, more and more public attention has been placed on the huge amount of governmental funding into the development of internet access. There are several factors leading to the investments into this technology , and I agree that they are not the most widely used budgets.

There are several reasons why the government spends a large amount of money on enhancing the quality of the internet. Firstly, the internet is a tool for people to study. In fact, both adults and youngsters can broaden their horizons through watching useful videos on the internet. Take myself as an example, two years ago, I often researched knowledge in ebooks through the internet before going to school; therefore, I was praised by my teachers for my academic improvement. Secondly, thanks to the wide availability of the internet, citizens can keep in touch with others by using social networking sites. Take my sister as an example, she has a best friend who lives far from home and my sister, but they have kept in touch for six years through social apps such as Zalo and Facebook.

I strongly believe that large financial spending on such a field could be inappropriate. Firstly, modern technology is now enough to meet human needs, so this requires more no investment. For instance, in Vietnam, it is rare to have to wait long to load a website because of the fast speed of the internet, so local authorities are unlikely to upgrade internet infrastructure. Secondly, money should be spent on building hospitals. Take my village as an example, many residents suffering from Covid 19 without receiving timely treatment, so we need local authorities’ budgets to build quarantine areas and hospitals in order to fight this virus.

In conclusion, there are two main factors that foster the state to improve internet access, and I trust this is not the most optimal way for money to be used.