In many countries, government spent a large amount of money on improving internet access. Why is it happening and do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money?

In this day and age, more and more public attention has been placed on the huge amount of government funding into the development of internet access. There are several factors leading to the improvement of the internet, and I agree that it is not the most suitable use of government money.

There are several reasons why the government spends a large amount of money in order to enhance the quality of the internet. Firstly, the internet is a tool for people to entertain and study. In fact, both adults and students can expand their knowledge and relieve stress through watching useful videos on the internet quickly. Take myself as an example, 2 years ago, I often researched the knowledge in the textbooks through the internet before going to class at school; therefore, I had been praised by my teachers for my improvement in my studies. Secondly, thanks to the wide availability of the internet, citizens can keep in touch with others by using social networking sites. Take my sister as an example, she has the best friend who lives far from home but they have kept in touch for six years through social apps such as Zalo or Facebook.

I strongly believe that large financial spending on such a field could be inappropriate. Firstly, modern technology is now enough to meet human needs. This is because residents can utilize the internet with high speed, and they can do everything they want with high precision and fast speed. For instance, in Vietnam, it is rare to have to wait long to load a website because of the fast speed of the internet. Secondly, there are other pressing fields which require the capital disbursement to deal with. To be more specific, we need to have a huge amount of government money to purchase good services and construct hospitals in order to treat diseases. Take my village as an example, there are many people with Covid 19 outside the community in my village,so we need local authorities’ money to build isolation places and hospitals to be able to treat covid 19 and improve human health.

In conclusion, there are two main factors for the government to improve internet access, and I trust this is not the most optimal way to be used for money.