Residents have sparked off an argument over imprisonment, in which it is believed to be less efficient than education in tackling crimes. While I accept that an improvement in education is advantageous, I opine that a prison sentence also exert positive influences on wrongdoers.

On the one hand, a pedagogical approach plays an important role in eradicating evils because of two major reasons. Firstly, only by education will moral and cultural values be instilled into learners’ mind. Therefore, this is expected to shape their patterns of behavior and create dignified citizens, who can embrace social fabrics, as well as eliminate any manipulation against codes of conduct. Secondly, education, which integrates regulations and legal terms into curricula, also helps social members entirely grasp the importance of obeying the law. Thus, it is safe to say that if people are sufficiently provided with such lessons, they are less likely to turn into crimes.

On the other hand, benefits brought about by imprisonment should not be overlooked. Indeed, serving a prison sentence, offenders will receive a harsh corporal punishment, and this may leave an indelible impression that any crime will be treated by the full weight of the law. As a result, ex-prisoners are believed to see the error of their way, which may not be reaped by other forms of punishing wrongdoers. For example, this can be illustrated by a recent study conducted among juvenile delinquents, in which 80% of total population reported that serving out a custodial sentence necessitates them being law-abiding citizens in order not to suffer consequences because of crimes. In contrast, if imprisonment is abolished, governments may face an obstacle to maintaining the policy of zero tolerance and, hence, a dilemma in solving a soaring crime rate.

In brief, while not disavowing the significance of education, it seems to me that imprisonment is also essential for the community to deal with criminals.