some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion

Deciding whether or not to assign homework to students has been a common quarrel in many countries. Personally, I support the setting of homework and will discuss both sides of the argument in this essay.

On the first hand, giving children exercise to complete after school is against due to several reasons. In general, it is considered as an unnecessary burden on students. Indeed, after experiencing a rigorous schedule with many convoluted lessons, they are more likely to be exhausted and full of stress, which need to relax rather than challenge themselves to solve additional problems. Moreover, the effectiveness of homework can be doubted, especially when people take a glance at the international educational league table, which reflects no improvement in children’s academic performance in countries where homework is the norm, compared to those of kids from countries where they are free after school.

On the other hand, the setting of homework also has an important role to play in the education system. As schooling directs to equip students with the essential skills to be independent citizens, the task of developing a self – regulating learning habit becomes obviously vital. That is the reason why homework, which requires students to work through tasks alone and at their pace, should be promoted. In addition, homework is of great use for teachers to keep track of their students, or, in other words, make sure that they acquire an accurate and comprehensive understanding of the lessons.

In conclusion, although its drawbacks are foreseen, I still believe that homework still remains necessary for the training program of many education systems.