It has been recognized that only by tightening controls on careless drivers will road safety be upgraded. While I accept that this may be an efficient resolution, I believe that substantial improvements can also be reaped by other feasible measures.

On the one hand, imposing more rigorous punishments is expected to be an effective road safety measure. Indeed, such policies as higher on-the-spot fines or even imprisonment, which make driving offenders suffer from a severe consequence, will act as a deterrent for them from perpetuating their careless driving. For example, when British government introduced an official ban on driving while intoxicated, there was a significant decline in the number of head-on collisions due to drink-driving. As a result, such announcements contribute to an improved safety level for the entire transport system. In contrast, if the authority remains soft on citizens who violate traffic regulation, they will less likely to entirely grasp the need of abiding by road safety laws and, thus, may continue to put others to dangers.

On the other hand, I concur with the view that there are also several other ways that can be proposed to gain road safety. Firstly, conducting vehicle inspections should be highly recommended for drivers. Indeed, if this project is applied on a regular basis, they will help the authorities eliminate transportations which are not roadworthy and, therefore, diminish accidents caused by their wear-and-tears. Secondly, upgrading and expanding public transport provision is another suitable solution. To be more specific, when state-owned railway and bus systems become ubiquitous and speed up journey times, they are believed to discourage the use of private vehicles, which results in a reduction in self-driving frequency and, thus, the probability of driving offenses.

In brief, while not disavowing positive effects of stricter punishments, I believe that other road safety measures can bring about similar outcomes.