The range of technology available to people is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. Others think it has an opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

It is undeniable that technological breakthroughs have radically changed the way we live and earn a living. While many people believe that the difference between social classes would be expanded by these innovations, I am in favor of the opposite idea and will support my view with reasons and examples in this essay.

On the one hand, innovative advancements are justified to gain the gap between the rich and the poor due to several reasons. Firstly, there has been a consensus that leading-edge technologies require an exorbitant budget to adopt and operate. Therefore, only by the upper class will these advances in technology be afforded and, as a result, harnessed, as we see in the US, where citizens’ willingness to pay for a smartphone is much higher than that of Nigerian residents. Secondly, a great deal of state-of-the-art innovations is also putting the middle class to the verge of poverty. Specifically, advancements in robotics technology and automation are predicted to supersede blue-collar workers, who are mostly poor people, making them prone to jobless and shoulder an onerous budget responsibility.

On the other hand, I concur with the view that the influences exerted by new technology on social inequality are not significant, since it offers equal accessibility for the whole population. Indeed, from an economic perspective, online shopping, supermarket checkouts utilizing smart cards or wireless hotspots have become ubiquitous, the advantages of which can be reaped by both the rich and the poor. As a result, all citizens are able to make the most of their time increasingly productive. From an education perspective, it is evident that technological breakthroughs have facilitated the transmission of knowledge by providing distance learning or online homeschooling. Hence, if impoverished residents are gained access to the aforementioned services, they will approach cutting-edged knowledge, which assures equal acquisitions to that of the upper class without paying an expensive tuition fee for face-to-face education.

In brief, it seems to me it is impossible to attribute any exacerbation in social equality to innovative advancements because of the advantages they bring about.