It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

Many nations have recently witnessed an insufficient number of students specializing in science. Two main reasons stand out as responsible for this decline, which is believed to exert several influences upon society.

To begin with, the dropping enrolment of science training programs can be explained by two major contributing factors. Firstly, the field is often considered to be challenging, requiring people channel most of their time into intellectual tasks in laboratories or libraries. Thus, as youngsters drawing their attention mostly to social interaction, it is understandable that students tend to neglect this demanding field. Another cause stems from the lack of opportunities for development. For example, in Vietnam, if students are majored in science, they will have a narrow list of potential workplace including state-owned institutes, which can offer only a living wage. This, compared to a decent remuneration of other jobs, makes science an unwise option because its strenuous training brings about an inadequate economic outcome.

It is foreseen that this tendency will enormously affect nations. Indeed, the dropping popularity of science leads to the lack of qualified and specialized scientists, who can push back the frontiers of knowledge and satisfy society’s demand of advances in technology. Consequently, since the less innovations contributed, the less likely firms harness technology to gain their competitive edge and promote their business. Additionally, an imbalance in labor structure may emerge when a majority of citizens is equipped with knowledge about arts and humanities, reflecting their preference for subject choice. Not only does this raise a question mark over training qualities of overpopulated courses but also contributes to insufficient job vacancies related to this field, making candidates face a likelihood of unemployment.

Briefly, the insufficiency in science students occurs as a result of two major causes, the effects of which should not be overlooked due to their severities.