Some people think that government should ban dangerous sports, while others think people should have freedom to do any sport or activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Social members have sparked off a heated controversy over whether extreme sports should be banned or not. Whereas their discernible minuses should not be overlooked, I believe that people should be allowed to take up any physical activities.

On the one hand, many residents believe in the implication of outlawing extreme sports with social health betterment. Indeed, this policy may acts as a deterrent for citizen to getting involved with dangerous disciplines, in which their high probability of injuries may leave them out of condition. For example, when the UK government introduced an official ban upon bungee jumping, there was a significant decline in the number of life-threatening conditions, reported by nationwide hospitals. Therefore, it can be predicted that a tightened control over a wide variety of extreme sports will enormously contribute to an enhanced public level of robustness. In contrast, if residents are granted permission to play them, they are more likely to venture the health on risky activities, which may create a medical burden due to unexpected injuries.

On the other hand, I concur with the view that people should have freedom of selecting sporting disciplines, regardless of their level of danger due to two major reasons. Firstly, it is taking sensible precautions that can make the idea of banning extreme sports on safety grounds unreasonable. Indeed, when players are fully equipped with such essential sports gears as helmets or seat belts, which can prevent themselves from injuries, they will be able to tackle any security concern. Secondly, there has been a consensus that only by themselves are people’s health status taken responsibility. Therefore, if the government prohibits all activities that carry health risks, this may be considered as a redundant policy, or even an infringement upon personal privacy.

In brief, while others support a ban on dangerous sports, I opine that they should be taken up freely by the entire population.